Günther Uecker

White Scream

The artist Günther Uecker (born 1930) who comes from Mecklenburg is known especially for his relief-like nail pictures. He studied painting from 1951 to 1953 in Wismar and at the Art Academy in Berlin Weißensee. In 1953, he left East Germany and completed his studied at the Art Academy in Düsseldorf, where he still lives today. After his studies, he became involved in the Zero group of artists for a number of years.

In 1956-57, he created the first of what would become his typical nail pictures: Three dimensional reliefs of nails painted white, which gain their own dynamism through the direction of the nails and the interplay of light and shadow.
Likewise in White Scream from 1991, the nails generate structures, swirls and movements, with the scream becoming visible through acoustic waves. At the same time, the structure is reminiscent of billowing corn fields or the movement of the waves on the ocean. The origins of many of his works can be found in the Mecklenburg countryside and scenery.

In 2011, the Staatliches Museum Schwerin acquired a private collection of Uecker’s works. It includes objects from the late 1960s through to the early 1980s and is unique in northern Germany.

Suchbegriff

Günther Uecker

Weißer Schrei

Der aus Mecklenburg stammende Künstler Günther Uecker (*1930) ist vor allem durch seine reliefartigen Nagelbilder bekannt. Er studierte von 1951 bis 1953 Malerei in Wismar und an der Kunstakademie in Berlin Weißensee. 1953 verließ er die DDR und beendete sein Studium an der Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf, wo er noch heute lebt. In den darauffolgenden Jahren wirkte er in der Künstlergruppe ZERO mit.

1956 / 1957 entstanden erstmals die für ihn typischen Nagelbilder: dreidimensionale, weiß bemalte Reliefs aus Nägeln, die durch die Ausrichtung der Nägel und die Wechselwirkung von Licht und Schatten ihre eigene Dynamik erhalten.

Auch im Weißen Schrei von 1991 erzeugen die Nägel Strukturen und Wirbel. Die wellenartige Bewegung macht den akustischen Schrei förmlich sichtbar. Gleichzeitig erinnert die Struktur an wogende Kornfelder oder die Wellenbewegung des Meeres. Viele seiner Werke haben ihren Ursprung in der mecklenburgischen Landschaft.

2011 erwarb das Staatliche Museum Schwerin eine private Uecker-Sammlung. Sie umfasst Objekte aus den späten 1960er bis frühen 1980er Jahren und ist die Einzige in Norddeutschland.

Der Weiße Schrei wird in den Sälen der Neuen Meister gezeigt und ist eine Dauerleihgabe der HypoVereinsbank, Member of UniCredit